Car insurance is required by every state in this country. However, there are an estimated 32 million uninsured drivers in the United States. For various reasons, some drivers make the choice to operate without insurance. This is never a good idea and can lead to serious penalties, including license suspension, jail time, and various monetary penalties.
Pennsylvania “choice no-fault” System
Pennsylvania operates a “choice no-fault” system. This means that drivers can choose to have limited tort (no-fault) coverage or fault insurance (full tort) coverage. However, if you are injured in an accident and you have no insurance, you have two options:
- Filing a third-party claim with the other driver’s insurance company for your injury.
- Filing a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
In Pennsylvania, it is mandatory that drivers carry $15,000 of coverage per person and $30,000 per incident. If the other driver is following the minimums of the law, they will have at least that much insurance coverage that can be recovered for claims you make against them.
If the other driver does not have insurance coverage, you will be limited to filing a personal injury lawsuit against them. However, if the driver does not have money to pay for insurance coverage, they may not have enough money for you to recover your medical expenses through a personal injury lawsuit.
You may need to work with an attorney to help with your claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier or to file a personal injury lawsuit. These cases can become complicated, and you can be sure that the other driver’s carrier will do everything they can to lower the settlement amount they payout. However, just because you do not have insurance does not mean you should not be compensated for injuries caused by someone else’s negligence.
Pennsylvania Car Insurance Laws
If you are caught driving without insurance in Pennsylvania, you face a minimum fine of $300 for driving uninsured. Along with this fine comes a three-month suspension of your vehicle registration and a three-month suspension of your driver’s license. You will also face a range of fees in order to restore the registration and license.
If you are in an accident, it is likely that the police will get involved. As they investigate the incident, they will ask for proof of insurance from both parties. If you fail to provide proof, you will likely be cited and fined, even if the other driver was at fault for the crash.
Contact An Accident Attorney
Please understand that it is in your best interest to follow all Pennsylvania laws regarding insurance requirements. Not only does this protect you in the event of an accident, but it can keep you from having to pay major fines and from facing registration and license suspensions.
If you or somebody you love has been injured by a careless or negligent driver, but do not have insurance of your own, seek legal assistance today. At the Ciccarelli Law Offices, we are dedicated to helping those who have been harmed due to another person’s actions. Our Philadelphia car accident attorneys are going to help you secure the compensation you are entitled to. You can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling (215) 228-0100