Chester County Attorney for Sexual Abuse of a Child
Being accused of sexual abuse of a child is a frightening experience. Your home or office may have been raided and your property seized. If this happened to you, you probably feel like no one is on your side.
Being accused of sexually abusing a child can tarnish your reputation, and your community will assume you are guilty until proven innocent. Being convicted of sexual abuse of a child is serious in Pennsylvania. Because of this, it is critical that you retain legal representation as soon as possible. Our team is based in West Chester PA (Chester County) and defends sexual abuse of child cases throughout Philadelphia and the state of Pennsylvania.
Defense Attorney for Sexual Abuse of a Child in Chester County, PA
By viewing this page, you already understand the seriousness of the charges against you. You will need an attorney that is experienced in defending sexual assault of a child and is willing to exhaust all of their resources to prove your innocence.
Find that attorney at Ciccarelli Law Offices. We will guide you through this complicated legal process and aggressively advocate on your behalf to achieve the best possible outcome for your situation.
The sooner you contact Ciccarelli Law Offices, the better your chances of a more favorable outcome in court. Take the first step in building your defense and contact Ciccarelli Law Offices today. You are not alone. We will listen to your story and find the best legal options available for your situation.
To schedule a free case consultation, call 610.692.8700 or submit your information in the online contact form. We represent clients in areas such as Exton, Kennett, Plymouth Meeting, Hatboro, Collegeville, Philadelphia and many more.
- What is Considered Sexual Abuse of a Child in PA?
- Penalties for Sexual Abuse of a Child in PA
- Related Charges
- Additional Resources
What is Considered Sexual Abuse of a Child in PA?
A child’s safety is a top priority in Pennsylvania. To ensure they are protected, the state has enacted numerous laws to prevent sexual abuse. The crime is listed under section 6312 of the Pennsylvania Statutes.
Under this section, certain sexual acts are prohibited against a child. These acts include:
- Sexual intercourse
- Lewd exhibition of genital
- Nudity for the purpose of sexual stimulation or gratification
Strict liability applies when a victim that is younger than the age of consent (16). This means that no intent needs to be shown by the prosecutor on the part of the accused, even if the underaged person willingly engaged in sexual activity.
The Pennsylvania Statute grants the district attorney authority to investigate and initiate criminal proceedings for any violations under this section. Because of this, you will need the guidance of an attorney who is experienced defending sexual abuse of a child.
Penalties for Sexual Abuse of a Child in Pennsylvania
All crimes in Pennsylvania can be serious, but those that involve a child are punished more severely than others. If you are found guilty of sexually abusing a child under section 6312 of the PS, you will face the following penalties:
Third-degree felony: For the first offense under this section, you could spend up to 7 years in prison and pay a fine that can cost up to $15,000.
Second-degree felony: For a second or subsequent offense under this section, you could spend up to 10 years in prison and a fine that can cost up to $25,000.
If you are convicted of sexually abusing a child, you will be required to register as a sex offender. The sexual offender registration is broken into three tiers that are categorized based on the severity of the offense and the likely hood that it would be committed again. Depending on your case, you will likely be required to register.
If you were convicted of possession of child pornography or voyeurism of a minor, you will be required to register as a tier I sex offender for 15 years. As a tier I offender, you will be required to appear at the local police department every year to verify your information and have you picture taken. With a clean record, the registration period may be reduced to 10 years.
If you are convicted of sexual abuse of a child, you will have to register as a tier II offender for 25 years. You will be required to appear in person at the local police department every six months to update your information and have your picture taken.
As a registered sex offender, you may be barred from using the Internet or a cell phone, communicate with anyone under 17 or going near a school, park or playground.
There are three other crimes under section 6312 of the PS that you could be charged with. All three crimes revolve around child pornography, and they include the following:
Photographing, videotaping, depicting on a computer or filming sexual acts: Knowingly permitting a child under 18 to engage in prohibited sexual acts or simulation of such acts with the intention of photographing, videotaping, filming or depicting on a computer.
Dissemination of photographs, videotapes, computer depiction and films: Knowingly selling, distributing, delivering, disseminating, transferring displaying or possessing for the purpose of sale any book, magazine, pamphlet, slide, photograph, film videotape, computer depiction of a child under 18 engaging in prohibited sexual acts or simulation of such acts.
Child Pornography: Knowingly viewing or possessing any book, magazine, pamphlet, slide, photograph, film, videotape, computer depiction or other material depicting a child under 18 engaging in prohibited sexual acts or simulation of such acts.
Additional Resources for Sexual Abuse of a Child in Chester County, PA
Sexual Abuse of Children | Pennsylvania Statutes– Follow this link to read the full text of the section of the PS that governs sexual abuse of a child in the state. You can read the precise legal definition of the offenses mentioned on this page, as well as
who is exempt from the section and defenses that cannot be used in court. The code can be read on the Pennsylvania General Assembly website.
Classification of Offenses | Pennsylvania State Police– Visit the Pennsylvania State Police website to view the classification of offenses for the sexual offender’s registration. You can also learn more about juvenile offenders, sexually violent delinquent children and registration criteria.
Chester County, PA Criminal Defense Lawyer for Sexual Abuse of a Child
Being convicted of sexually abusing a child has the potential to alter your life drastically. Because of this, you need to contact a defense attorney as soon as possible. Ciccarelli Law Offices knows how devastating this charge can be on your future
We treat all of our clients with dignity and respect. We will not focus on guilt or innocence, but on what we can do to ensure the best possible outcome is achieved for you. Contact Ciccarelli Law Offices today.
To schedule a free case consultation, call 610.692.8700 or submit your information in the online form. We represent clients in counties that include Chester County, Lancaster County, Delaware County, Philadelphia County and Montgomery County.