Life happens. Divorce isn’t something anyone looks to have happen when they get married, but circumstances arise and it may be unavoidable. However, understanding your options could make it a little easier to get through.
Pennsylvania offers divorce under two No-Fault grounds:
1) mutual consent, which happens when the spouses agree that the marriage is irretrievably broken and 90 days have elapsed from the date a party is served with the divorce complaint, and
2) two-year separation, which happens when the parties have lived separate and apart for at least two years.
If you have filed for divorce in Pennsylvania and 90 days have passed, the only thing standing in your way is your spouse’s consent. Even if you both agreed to a divorce at one time, a lot can happen in 90 days – feelings can change, resentment can build, and disputes around property can arise. Despite the initial understanding you had, a spouse is entitled to change his or her mind and decide not to consent. This doesn’t prohibit you from getting a divorce, but now you will have to wait the two-year separation period.
The 90-day mutual consent divorce is not as simple as it may seem. Before going down a road that appears straightforward, make sure you understand complications that may arise. It is important to know your legal rights and to protect yourself during the divorce process. To understand and protect your rights contact Ciccarelli Law Offices.