Montgomery County DUI Defense Attorney
Pennsylvania saw the lowest number of alcohol-related driving deaths in 2017, which dropped from 297 to 293, but that number is still not zero. Until that zero number is reached, lawmakers continue to take a vigorous approach to drunk driving. The result is arresting innocent people or using them as examples to deter others. If you are convicted, serious penalties can include jail time, fines, and suspension of licenses. If you or a loved one have been convicted of a DUI in Montgomery County, contact a Montgomery County DUI Defense Attorney to discuss legal action moving forward and ensure your rights are protected.
Why Choose Ciccarelli Law Offices?
- Our Montgomery drunk driving defense lawyers are knowledgeable of Pennsylvania statutes and can help your case from going on your record with the Probation Before Judgment.
- Our local lawyers are trusted within the court system and may be able to negotiate a plea deal.
- We are committed to your case and will advise on what is and isn’t standard in a DUI or DWI to bolster your case.
Why You Need a DUI Defense Lawyer
DUIs and drunk driving are offenses punishable by jail time, fines, and remains on your permanent record. During a time of aggressive law enforcement with driving under the influence, mistakes are easily made. For example, the prosecutor may try to convict you with information obtained in violation of your Fourth Amendment rights. In this case a plea deal would be used and charges dropped. A local Montgomery County Criminal Defense Attorney will help you evaluate your options and make smart choices.
Pennsylvania Drunk Driving Penalties
The state of Pennsylvania takes drunk driving and driving under the influence very seriously. Laws for blood alcohol content are strict and are based on the driver’s blood alcohol content. The BAC in Pennsylvania is separated into tiers, 0.08%, 0.10 to 0.159%, and 0.16% or higher. Penalties in Pennsylvania depend on the BAC and level of defense. A first-offense DUI is punishable by a $300 fine, but no jail time and no points on their license. A second-offense DUI is punishable by a fine up to $2500, a one-year license suspension, and a minimum of 5 days to 6 months jail time. A third-offense DUI is punishable by up to a $5000 fine, a one-year license suspension, and a minimum of 10 days to 2 years in jail.
Drunk Driving Defenses
If you are arrested driving under the influence with the appropriate blood alcohol content, you are held liable. Third parties that sell alcohol to an individual who drives under the influence could also be liable. For this, Montgomery Country Criminal Defense Attorneys will evaluate all of the circumstances and work hard to lessen the charges. For example, an attorney could use the no probable cause defense, in which there was no probable cause to stop the individual and test for their BAC. Other defenses are no impairment, faulty BAC test results, not driving at the time, and rising BAC. These defenses require carefully crafted legal plans.
Contact Our DUI Attorneys Today
Montgomery DUI Defense Attorneys work diligently on behalf of every client. Whether your blood alcohol content was over the limit or not, a defense can be made in your case. Contact a defense attorney to evaluate your case and help you take the next step. We may be able to lessen your charges, including keeping your case from remaining on your permanent record. Call to request your free, no-obligation consultation.